Fortunate Nineteen

This post is dedicated to someone I’ve known all my life. Her birthday is on the 27th of September and how fitting I felt it would be to dedicate my first ever birthday blog (which isn’t about me) to her!
Okay, let’s start from the early years or as my latin friends would say; ab initio!

My family and hers have always been very close, my dad and her dad used to do things together; her mom and mine used to roll together, in fact; her dad bears a striking resemblance to my dad – they are both fair and fleshy – that I once used to refer to her dad as mine subconciously. The earliest memory I can ever recall of our families was in the late 90s (1998 or so) when my family came all the way down from Ikorodu to their house in Ikeja…my diminishing mental picture depicts us all having breakfast on the dining table (I may still have to verify this though). Then the routine Christmas visits every year to the village. I think she was referred to as “my wife” when we were kids as we used to play together very well then, after I left Lagos we didn’t see again and I remember looking forward to every Christmas period with excitement because I knew I was going to see her (and her siblings too!). I’d always ride my granny’s bicycle to their house in the villa; I’d eat; play & play more with them all. This was the routine for several years. I remember one occassion where we’d always argue over who was taller (I’m 28 days older than her 😉 ), I also remember writing some stuffs on the wall and telling to figure out what I had written, she couldn’t; it turned out what I wrote was a “I love you” (childish brain), of course you wouldn’t blame me, I was still an infant; forced to watch Nollywood movies in the village so it was only natural to try acting out one of the love scenes I had watched the previous night. That was an aside though; it didn’t happen again (not like there was another chance) but those were all part of the childish stage. Somehow, they stopped coming home for Christmas & with that contact was lost. One fateful day (after like 4yrs), I received a call, guess who the caller was? Her!!! She said she got my number from Facebook (thank God for that thing!) so we resumed contact again, I think we used to talk virtually everyday during one stage; I still remember the kinda sound she made the one day we talked on phone and I told her I went to visit a friend who was female and she chuckled at the idea I visited a girl and stayed the whole day in her house. Of course, you can trust my childish brain, I started raising my hopes that the “my wife” they called her back then could be realised. Now you must understand the kinda person I was -reserved, good and naive – so you’d understand why I almost gave up my “goodness” because I was reunited with someone who had known me from infancy (relocating to Enugu brought me around people who knew nothing about my history). The fallout of that nasty “my wife” thought led to something I’d later regret sha. If I were to list the bad things I’ve ever done in my life before; it’d rank amongst the top 5. I attended a high profile school (unusual for the nerd I was then) a Federal Govt. College and some rich kids (I wasn’t poor though) were serenading everywhere so you must understand some bad influences came from there…so here’s the bad thing I did. Back then, I told her I was in love with her; as a novice I didn’t even do this via the phone or FB inbox…haha, I did it via commenting on a status she had written so the whole world saw it. You know, the funny part was I told her “a fire was kindled in my heart for her”. Haha, you go fear teenage pick up lines na. Of course, being the responsible girl that she was, she got mad but she didn’t put me off, she just laughed the whole thing off it was even her elder sister that took the case personal. An amateur that tried being bad, I guess I don’t really fit into the bad boy mode, LOL. I went into hiatus then because I was disappointed with myself, after the “fire which was kindled” (lol) was quenched. I couldn’t face her, that was even how we stopped talking on the phone & stopped talking (for a while). We resumed conversations later on sha but it was on a very platonic level, I mean after falling my hand like that, what did you expect? The funny part is that I’m pretty sure she doesn’t remember any of these things I’ve ranted about here but how can I ever forget them?
That was just that sha, we’ve all grown, I mean we were kids then but we’ve all grown, I’ve become a man & all that but I really want to talk about her…

I’m amazed at how she has grown into a beautiful woman! One with character, finesse & a magnificent aura.
She’s now outta the country & I can’t help but be thankful that particular incident didn’t soil our relationship.
I thank God for the woman she has become, I pray she makes the most of God’s Grace in the next 365 days.

I love you loadz (not that kinda “love”…lol)!
Cheers to a hearty new year!
Happy Birthday!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

