20 Fourteen Avenue

What’s in it for me? I always asked my mind. No need engaging in whatsoever wasn’t gonna yield positive returns (or so I thought). The previous hadn’t gone so well, the guarantee that this would be different was flailing. I couldn’t deal. But you know the good thing about change? Yes, you nailed it there; it’s ambiguity. The fact we never know exactly what change is going to bring our way makes it appealing especially when you’ve become fed up with the present.

Aha! That was the bait I needed, the pleasant ambivalence that is change got to me and I decided to give it a try albeit for one last time.

That, people is how I found myself in 20 Fourteen Avenue. One striking feature of this avenue as I stepped in was its vast network of roads both tarred and untarred. Thankfully the first road I got on as I stepped in was tarred; (that probably explains why I stuck to tar all through). I kept walking, I didn’t have a destination; I just tried to keep to tarred roads. I hadn’t ventured far off when I go to a place where the tar stopped. I had to tread on dust. Two quick thoughts; go back through the tarred roads that brought me here or step on to dust and hope it leads to something spectacular; besides wasn’t that what brought me here at first? Nothing wrong in trying it out.

And so my first real journey on untarred roads begun. Before we talk about the untarred roads; let’s gloat some more about the tarred roads. Boy were they the best moments of my life? I had thought so at that time. I later learnt that the name of the street I was on, was called January. As I trod on those aesthetic roads, I felt on top of the world, rarely did I go through January street without admirers following. When passersby chose not to acknowledge my presence, I quickly wrote them off. I had just written one off as I took the next turn by my right into February street.

February had nice roads but they weren’t long enough, no sooner had I walked did I get to the end of February street.

Oh how the streets of March were filled with lush green grass…March had fine houses on either side, enough recreation areas, many malls, cheap things, the propensity to conserve energy was visible in these streets. I got tired of the journey midway, I had been walking for way too long, I struggled as I reached the end of March street, the struggle was real.

April street on the far end couldn’t have come sooner, I needed its lush trees for respite, the trees were good shades against the rays from above, I paced frantically whenever there was no shade; I had learnt that no matter how hard the conditions became it was very important to keep moving, and move? I certainly did. And it helped that I saw an eatery somewhere at the end of the street, I entered gladly.

The next turn on my right was May Street. I had enough energy for May, I ate enough at the eatery so I bubbled through May, the adulations were slowly wearing off, but they didn’t matter again. Very easy to see me adapting to routines here, at this point.

My verve is slowly dying but June street provides a spark albeit a shortlived one but one that gave me renewed optimism.

July brought love, I fell in love with July because it brought lovely people around, its street was filled with fine faces, that enough made me speed up my voyage; as I took the turn at my right, I came into August street.

August wasn’t a street for poor men; this street had money all over it, I just had to key in. I tried to reduce the fanfare my journey through the streets brought with it.

Went through to September street which had too many activities, cars were always packed on the street, so I waltzed through the distractions this street provided.

I had actually walked into October street long before I realised it. I knew I was slowly losing my enthusiasm for this journey, I needed a change of scenery fast and October street provided it.

October street was entirely different from what I had seen before, different house patterns, different people and all…roads were mostly empty though as people avoided the streets.

November street continued the trend. The scenery change theme continued and was fun to meet new people on this street, I figured it was time to shed off some people as I stepped into this street (to make space for new ones). People who weren’t worth it were booted off as I continued. Turn down for what I hear you say??? Made it this far, why would I reduce my speed?

Turned it up as I danced into December street. Songs blaring out every where, this street came with so much vibe and I was sure to tune in. Was a fitting end to my voyage.

My voyage into 20 Fourteen Avenue had offered so much even when it did promise little, wasn’t a bad one afterall. I took on the change to see what the ambiguity of change was going to provide and the rest as you all know is history. I won’t miss it though.

Stay True!

– Miracle Roch
@Mr_GudMan

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Sweet Sixteen | Miracle Roch Blog

Leave a Reply

