I don’t have a Plan

I don’t have a plan. I know I’m supposed to be that tech savvy guy who has it all figured out but sadly I don’t have stuff figured out. I just recently graduated from school and life has already been too daring. I thought I had seen it all and was ready but alas! I don’t know shit.
I hear people talk, and they give you their 10 year plan, some give you their lifetime plan, they tell you what they should be doing in the next 5 years and all that stuff.
I don’t even know the basic things like what I should do my M.Sc on, where I should do my M.Sc, which career path I should follow and all that stuff. Before y’all castigate real quick, let me give you some reasons for my dilemma.
For some reasons, I let my childhood slip away from me, my childhood was too serious, no cartoons, no TV, none of all those things that supposedly makes one’s childhood fun. Sadly, I’m slowly letting that happen to my adolescence too. I don’t know how I get this feeling that I don’t have time, so I’m trying to mumble plenty things into one calendar year in a bid to “save time”. I’m only 21 and rather than be grateful knowing that so many people my age are still in school, I’m already saying I don’t have time.
So, the first reason why I don’t have a plan is because I’m in a hurry. I have refused to enjoy life, indulge in some frivolities and just enjoy the moments. Maybe I should cool down knowing I have lots of time and somehow believe the plan will be all clear to me at some point later on.
Second reason why I don’t have a plan is because I’m everywhere and nowhere. In this little time I have spent on earth, I have managed to fit in too many things into my thinking faculty. I’m not saying it’s a bad thing to be versatile, but when that versatility is hindering your progress then there should be a caveat somewhere. I know too many things, like too many things, say too many things that basically, push has come to shove and I’m having a hard time knowing which of those “things” I should pursue.
The Third reason is definitely linked to the second. I’m basically torn between two passions, I love Physics, (I’m a trained Physicist by the way), I want to go into Medical Physics and focus on Resonance Imaging and Radiation and hopefully come up with a better cancer detection mechanism (because what we have now is fool’s gold) that will actually save Cancer patients and save them the rigours and trauma of chemotherapy. That’s been my plan ever since that aunt of mine died in LUTH to cancer when I was young. But then, I’m a geek. I love IT, I love all that stuff about computers, coding, language and all the endless impossibilities that come with it. I’ve been into IT for almost all my life so I also want to go into that.
The fourth reason why I’m at a dilemma is because, I’ve been consulting “old heads”, I’ve been reading “career” books and I’ve tried to see if there’s a middle ground between the two. I had thought there were at two extremes but I think I’ve finally come up with a middle ground for both. It’s something called Medical Informatics. While I’m still exploring this new field, I really haven’t gotten to any conclusions.
I could give you countless reasons why I don’t have a plan and allow you have fun and laugh at my muddle but it won’t really get us anywhere. I’m going to desist from throwing this back at you so I’d let you read and come up with your own conclusons.
I also don’t have a plan because it’s not in my place to have a plan. I didn’t script my life; God did. So He’s got the plans for my life. I’m yet to download it, once I do, I’ll share with you all.
So, I don’t have a plan because it’s not my place to come up with a plan. Forget all these reasons.

Stay True!

Miracle Roch.

@Miracle_Roch

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

