I Chose This Life

I Chose This Life

So I’m here all seated in my office. Nothing wrong with that except that I’ve been seated since 6.30AM. Yeah. The thing with Lagos Traffic is that you always have to make a decision every morning, would you rather sit out 2-3 hours in traffic every day or sit them out in the comfort of your office? Crazy thing is, your choice doesn’t even determine anything. There’s always traffic. But today, there was no traffic, or would I rather say the cab driver was clever enough to follow a less public route.

So why am I writing this? Because I’ve been reminiscing about my life. Was this the life I dreamed of at 21? I have no idea, I don’t remember ever saying anything spectacular about my “21”. But why am I not somewhere at home sleeping? How did this corporate white collar life start? Shouldn’t I be balling and goofing around like the others?

I realised that at 21, I’ve tried out virtually everything there is about the corporate world – at a rudimentary level at least, I’ve even done blue collar jobs. I’ve done plenty things all in a bid to discover premium time occupancy.

I chose this world. After I left school, I started craving for a job or task that will make me leave my house every morning and come back late at night. I wanted that routine, I called it The Discipline of Routines (got a blogpost with the title for over two years in my head now). I wanted to learn how to wake up early, get my clothes ready for the next day and all that stuff.

I’ve been so rigid with routines that it’s almost become my holy grail – finding a routine that works and yields progress at the same time! At some point, I had to buy a white sole sneakers, just so I’d learn how to wash my shoes. I wanted this kind of job because as a student, I almost regularly missed my exams and important stuff because waking up on time was war for me.

Back in school, I dreaded every morning that followed a “night class” I went for, it looked like my body will always take its statutory 6 hours of sleep no matter what was at stake, it didn’t care that I had an exam the next morning. This was worrying, and I don’t know any great man who slept more than he worked. This got me really worried, my sleeping habits became my bane.

I knew I couldn’t continue like this as an adult in the real world, so I needed a routine responsibility. I’m here to say God has helped me achieve that. No matter the time I sleep, I always get a nudge around 4.30AM, even without an alarm most times. Of course, getting a nudge and getting out of bed are two different things, I’m sure you understand. But progress, nevertheless has been made.

I chose this life because I have decided to pay now and play later. “Satisfy me Lord in the days of my youth”, says a popular scripture. “But what right do you have to ask for satisfaction if you haven’t been working”, I quipped to myself. Ever since then, I have been putting my youthful exuberance to good cause, all that energy, rather than waste it pounding girls, I’d rather pound books and my laptop keyboards with it.

I chose this life because I chose knowledge over money. I have been massacred (not literally) by all and sundry because I have simply decided not to chase money. When I got my current job, they told me how much my salary was going to be, they expected me to negotiate, after an awkward moment of silence, they had to ask me if I wasn’t going to say anything about it, I looked at them and told them, I wasn’t here for the money. They were all shocked.
People don’t understand yet that money is just paper. That paper becomes important when you place a value on it, I have rather chosen to place my value on better things, things like the human heart and the human mind.

I believe that knowledge will get you as far as money can’t. I believe that knowledge will thrust you as far as power can’t. This is because, we happen to fall into a generation where the emphasis placed on knowledge dwindles with each passing time. A beauty pageantry has more rewards than a science contest. Don’t fight it, it’s the world we are in. It will only get worse on a large scale.

I chose this life because, caring about what people say all the time won’t get you nowhere. I don’t care how I look in my selfies, I take them for my pleasure and not for yours. In my head, I’m a Bradley Cooper (or a Stephen Curry), I don’t care if I’m an Idris Elba in your head, and it doesn’t matter. No matter how I look in those selfies, it wouldn’t change that image of me in my head, stop trying to please people. You can never please them.

I chose this life because I chose God. I know He is my creator, I know he’s got the advantage of hindsight and foresight, and He will work out what’s best for me, so long as I follow Him.

I’m following him, I won’t stop.

Stay True!

Miracle Roch.

Leave a Reply

