Who are You?

Who are you?

I haven’t really posted any of trademark post here in a long while. You know, the kind that I’m so good at – mixing personal stories with real societal issues. I will tell you why.

I recently got some very good recommendations and exciting offers through readers of this blog. I had to reject some of the offers because frankly, I didn’t quite believe I was that good.

I took time to go through most of my posts in a bid to see what you all see, I finished reading and I didn’t really understand what the fuss was about (although I must admit some of the things I read were so good I couldn’t believe it came from me, more like Future listening to Desiigner and wondering how that isn’t him).

My point is, I didn’t really see what the fuss it. So I began to dig deep, there must be something about me and my writings that has cut across so many hearts, yeah people read me from Norway, Australia, Scotland. One day I will post WordPress’ Atlas of my blog, I’ve got a spot in literally all the continents except South America. Not that I have mind boggling hits, I mean, I’m not on Alexa yet, but I appreciate the fact that the esteemed few who read value my content. I mean, I really put all these here to help you all become better even as I wander along the path of “betterness”.

I have to be doing something right to be getting this kind of following, and after much deliberation I’ve been able to come up with an explanation.

See, I’m a very horrible person but I’ve become good at it. I don’t pretend to be who I’m not. Actually, if you meet me for the first time today, I put on my worst behaviour. I have no interest in appearing nice to folks. That thing doesn’t pay, it’s fake. I have refined my horribleness to be something akin to a labyrinth admirable from afar. When you buy a Picasso art, you are not buying the ingenuity of the art, you’re buying the name on the art. It’s the name and not the art that is valuable. What is your name?

Let me tell you what been your real self does to you, it saves you the stress of having to worry about those in your life. I recently took a drastic decision to reduce the number of people in my life, I seriously don’t care what people say about me. I’m real to myself. I have preserved and placed more value on my name than on my art. Which is probably why, when you read my posts, you’re not reading my “art”, you’re reading my “name” transcribed through letters.

It is this secret that has won me hearts (and gotten me jobs) via this blog. The fact that when you read, you see my rawness without appearing vulnerable.

The real people who like you, don’t like you for any particular reason, trust me. When someone really cares about you, they don’t need a reason to do so. In trying to give them a reason to do so, the genuineness fades away.
I took a stock of the people that actually matter in my life, I didn’t do anything to impress them. I’ve been an ass more times than I’ve been a human to them, yet they’ve stuck to me. It’s because they really want to. How about those I really did “stuff” for, those are the ones who come up with silly excuses of how you haven’t meet doing something right for them. It is always about them. You don’t need that kind of negativity around you.

Interpersonal social interactions are like magnets, just be the real you, and an aligning character will be attracted to you, in less than no time. It may take time but chill. I know what it feels like to be alone, I’ve been alone before, and even despite all my shenanigans about being a proud loner (I did blog about that years ago), deep down, I still felt hollow. But rather than wallow in that feeling, I got something doing. I worked towards becoming better and in the long run, the RIGHT people came along.

So I ask again, who are you? The person who see in the mirror? Or the person they say you are? Or the person you wanna be? Or the person they want you to be? You must decide who you are!

Stay True!

Miracle Roch.

Leave a Reply

