The In-Betweens

Life is a journey, or so we are told. But I don’t believe life is a journey. I mean, I had to check my dictionary for what the Englishman defines as a journey, and it’s pretty straightforward. A Journey is an act of travelling from one place to the other. My problem with taking this popular definition of life is that is neglects a very important part of life; the in-betweens.

I don’t mean that other “in-between” people use to demarcate life and death; in-between life and death, as they refer to it. I mean the “in-between of life, mostly found between “li” and “fe”.

The in-betweens are those numerous minuscule details that serenade your whole life and actually do the damage (or good) without ever taking credit for it. Your in-betweens churned you out the way you are right now.

I am grateful for my in-betweens, mainly because it’s made me who I am. We all go through various in-betweens daily, and I feel so bad because, they appear so irrelevant to even spring up to mind.

As you go through life, don’t be in a hurry. Savor the in-between. Don’t be too focused on the future that you end up missing out on the present. Once I wrote about having tasted both sides of the coin and how that adventure helped me realized which side of the coin was better. I thought I got a better understanding because I was on “the other side”, but with the benefit of hindsight, I realized I only landed on the “in-between”! Even coins have their in-betweens.

Most times, when you actually feel you’ve flipped the coin, what you actually did was tilt it upwards. You landed on the in-between. The in-between gives you a better view. I make bold to say the “in-between” is the best view; it doesn’t make a fuss, it just goes on about the job and gets it done.

Your ability to sideline the efficacy of your in-betweens is the reason why you keep running from pillar to post looking for refuge, it’s the same reason why you keep falling into different arms looking for protections and spend every resource you’ve got materials because you’re looking for satisfaction. The satisfaction, security and protection you require are all within you – disguised as your in-betweens. Quit looking in the wrong place.

No time is ever wasted, what you actually call “time wasted” was a precious stop over at the “in-betweens”, enjoy the experience and embrace it wholly.

Stay True!

Miracle Roch.

Leave a Reply

