2019 Review: Memorials and Traditions

God loves memorials and tradition. Most of the direct instruction he gave the Israelites in the Bible was for them to celebrate and remember major events that had happened. When he introduced himself, he made reference to being the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, he loves some history God. Jesus also continued in that light by showing his disciples some events he wanted them to annually remember.

Following in line with the things close to God’s heart, I have decided to write and publish this after so many deliberations. For over 8 years, I have always written an end of the year review, it’s one of the traditions that has stayed with me since I started this blog in 2011. For some reason, I’m not a sucker for traditions, I actually detest traditions and always looking for something new. But when I got a wind of the pattern in the Bible as to how God treats tradition, here I am.

2019 was a good year. Since 2015 till now, my years have been exponentially getting better. 2019 did not feel exponential, it felt progressive maybe because 2018 was a stupendously great year. Or so I felt, until I actually crunched the numbers for 2019 and saw that I did grow exponentially as well, but why did I not feel like it? I improved across all areas, conquered new heights in multiple folds but it did not feel exponential. Perhaps this was because I had raised my own bar, or is this what DJ Khaled called “suffering from success”? I did suffer from success, wins that were huge became “small wins” for me, I had begun to slowly underrate some of my achievements but thank God for data and records. I have since come around to my full senses and remain super grateful for how God has been so kind with me.

2019 was a part of a long road trip, the part where you stop to have some food and walk around before you continue on the journey. I had so many good moments, I met the best people in my life, I probably met more new people in 2019 than I did ever and some of them will become mainstays in my life for a long while. If you read any of my previous reviews, you’d know that the years always have specific lessons for me and it feels like 2019 had multiple for me and they were thoroughly important lessons I needed to learn; lessons about life and love.

I am struggling to write this review because for some reason, I’m not able to shake off or mentally separate 2018 from 2019. Like Jesus said, a man’s life does not consist of the abundance of things he possess so I’m usually very keen when I review moments not to make them about possessions but rather focus on the intangibles and I spent a great deal of time this year on my intangibles, the things people did not see or could not make sense of. Thank you for sharing 2019 with me as much as I let you and thank you for understanding. I’m not promising that the situation will change in 2020 but we’d never know.

There goes your review.  You can read the previous reviews for 2018, 2017, 2016, here.

Stay True!

Miracle Roch.

 

Leave a comment